ASM Inspiring Women Recipients

Posted by on 14 December 2015

Congratulations to Dr. Maria Liaskos and Dr. Catherine Satzke for receiving the inaugural 'Inspiring Women' fellowships!

comment(s) | Read the full post

World Health Organisation Survey AMR

Posted by on 16 September 2015

We hereby invite you to participate in a short survey about the World Health Organization¹s activities for prevention and containment of antimicrobial resistance (AMR). WHO has been engaged in this field over many years, and has renewed its focus after the release of the Global Report on Surveillance in 2014 and the adoption of the Global Action Plan in May 2015. The purpose of the survey is to collect information about the views and perceptions of professionals working with AMR on WHO´s previous efforts, and also how WHO should prioritize future activities. Hopefully, this research project can support WHO in the challenging process of Global Action Plan implementation. Professor Sprenger has expressed his support for the survey as Director of the AMR secretariat in WHO. The results will be presented at conferences and in peer-reviewed journals. The survey is anonymous and will be sent to a relatively high number of respondents. We will not be able to identify participants. The survey should be completed in less than 10-15 minutes. We will kindly ask you to forward this e-mail to as many colleagues as possible in order to maximize the number of respondents. Please disregard this e-mail if you have already received it from another contact.

comment(s) | Read the full post

Notification to Members of Inactive SIG Termination

Posted by on 19 August 2015

The July 2015 ASM Council meeting determined that they will be considering the termination of the SIGS which have been inactive for two or more years at the next Council Meeting in February 2016. These include at present:

comment(s) | Read the full post

Vale Stephen Davis

Posted by on 21 July 2015

stephen davisIt is with great sadness that we acknowledge the passing of Mr Stephen Davis who passed away on Thursday 16 July after a long illness.

comment(s) | Read the full post

Vale Dr Michael Cloonan

Posted by on 15 July 2015

Dr Michael Cloonan has recently passed following a short illness. Mike was the head of virology at Prince Henry Hospital in Sydney prior to its closure and was a staunch supporter of the ASM. He was passionately interested in virology and became involved in arbovirology in the early 1980's, an area in which he particularly distinguished himself. He undertook pioneering work into the isolation of viruses from mosquitoes from the South Coast of NSW which helped piece together the epidemiology and ecology of these viruses. Mike did not have to become involved in such things - he  directed a large and busy diagnostic laboratory and could easily have spent all his time in routine diagnostic pursuits but it was his interest in research and tertiary education that lead him into arbovirology. Through his work he has affected the lives of thousands of Australians, that he never knew and who of course never knew him - but because of him we have a greater understanding of the epidemiology and ecology of arboviruses such as Ross River virus. He trained and mentored many scientists who continue his legacy today, and it is these colleagues and friends who will sorely miss him.

comment(s) | Read the full post

Vale Professor Geoffrey Shellam

Posted by The ASM on 8 July 2015

Professor Geoffrey Shellam has recently passed after a long battle with cancer. He will be sorely missed by all his microbiology colleagues in Western Australia and his family and friends the world over. He was a wonderful gentleman and scholar who passionately believed in basic research and tertiary education. In his last years, he was an advocate for helping many international students into the Masters of Infectious Disease program and continued to give many helpful advice after their graduation. He was Professor of Microbiology for 30 years.

comment(s) | Read the full post

2015 Millis-Colwell Award Winner - Jennifer Moffatt

Posted by on 24 June 2015

Picture1This year I was fortunate enough to receive the Millis-Colwell award, which allowed me to present my work on the intracellular pathogen Coxiella burnetii at the 115th American Society for Microbiology General Meeting. This year the meeting was held in New Orleans, a city close to my heart. Despite the summer heat, New Orleans proved to be the perfect backdrop to an action packed conference. Having never attended an American Society for Microbiology meeting, I wasn’t really sure what to expect. I heard it was going to be big, but it certainly exceeded my expectations! With five concurrent sessions, I was overwhelmed with choice. I would have looked utterly ridiculous running up and down the corridors of the conference center trying to catch presentations in different sessions if wasn’t for the fact that everyone else was doing exactly the same thing. I certainly needed the extra exercise to compensate for all the oysters, jambalaya and gumbo I was eating.

comment(s) | Read the full post

2015 ASM Award Winners

Posted by on 27 May 2015


Lyn Gilbert Award – Theo Sloots
Frank Fenner Award – Gene Tyson
David White Excellence in Teaching Award – Helen Agus
Teachers Travel Award – Megan Lloyd
bioMerieux ASM Award – David Whiley

comment(s) | Read the full post

10th Asia-Pacific Congress of Medical Virology 2015 (APCMV 2015)

Posted by on 26 May 2015

On behalf of the Organizing Committee, we are pleased to extend an invitation to you to attend the 10th Asia-Pacific Congress of Medical Virology 2015 (APCMV 2015) in conjunction with 12th Taipei International Conference on HIV/AIDS, which will be held in Taipei International Convention Center, from October 15th (Thur.) to October 18th (Sun.), 2015!

comment(s) | Read the full post